Hiking Preikestolen, Norway: Packing list

Living in Norway has given me plenty of outdoor opportunities. One in particular was hiking up to Preikestolen – the Preachers Rock over Lysefjord.

DSC_0600

It was a 20km hike altogether and pretty much all uphill on the way up. We were camping altogether for 3 days but most of the stuff we left in the tent whilst we were hiking, as we were always coming back to the same place. Here is a list of what we took:

Food

We would be away for 3 days and our campsite didn’t have a kitchen, so we decided we could do without all the camp cooking equipment. However, we did figure we could get hot water from reception. Here is our food list:

  • 1 loaf of bread each.
  • Various fillings: Nutella, peanut butter and jam, cheese and salami.
  • Soup packets and a pot noodle. After a few days of sandwiches, coming back from the hike with the prospect of a hot pot noodle was fabulous.
  • A knife.
  • Tea bags.

Camping

  • Tent, obviously
  • Sleeping bag
  • Ground pad
  • Big backpack – mine was 65L
  • Day backpack – mine was 20L

Clothing and personal items

  • Jumper and fleece
  • Waterproof
  • Underwear
  • Towel. For your shower, as a pillow, extra cover if it’s cold at night.
  • Trainers
  • Trousers x2. 1 pair for the hike and 1 pair of comfy trousers for the journey home.
  • Vest x2. So you don’t have to wear the same sweaty top the day after the hike.
  • A book
  • Toiletries and hairbrush

WHAT TO TAKE ON THE HIKE:

Clothing

  • Trainers – As it was only a days hike I didn’t use hiking boots. (Mainly because I didn’t have any with me…) Hiking boots definitely give you more ankle support though, and clambering up all the boulders, that would have been helpful.
  • Trackies – easy to move in and fairly breezy.
  • Hoody – Light enough to keep me warm in the cool air.
  • Fleece – this was for when we got to the top and stopped moving. It gets cold very quickly when you stop moving at high altitudes, especially in Norway.
  • Waterproof – it didn’t rain, luckily, but I couldn’t have been without it if it had. Also good as a windproof jacket.

Miscellaneous

  • Backpack – obvious. For a days hike, I had a small one, about 20L.
  • Camera – a must for anywhere in Norway really, it’s such a beautiful country.
  • Snacks – for some lunch at the top. We had bread and fillings for sandwiches and some apples.
  • Water bottle – I had a 500ml bottle which I was able to fill up in the mountain streams. That’s just Norway though, you might want a bigger bottle depending on where you’re going.
  • First Aid Kit – I didn’t carry this myself, but a friend I was hiking with did and it came in very useful. It might not just be useful for you; we met a girl who was having some really bad stomach pains and we were able to give her a pain killer. Plenty of others just walked past. It was great when we saw her again at the top, able to enjoy herself.
  • Whistle – I had a tiny whistle, it doesn’t take up much space but in an emergency it could be your life saver.
Our camp

Our camp

All this fitted in our 65L backpacks pretty easily. It was definitely a hike to remember, and highly recommended.

I hope you find this list useful! If you’ve got anything to add, comment below :)

11 responses to “Hiking Preikestolen, Norway: Packing list

  1. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not
    sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same outcome.

  2. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your blog. You have some really good articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some material
    for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please blast me an email if interested. Many
    thanks!

  3. Very good blog you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any user discussion forums
    that cover the same topics discussed in this article?
    I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get suggestions from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Bless you!

    • Hi Jerilyn! Thank you very much, it’s so nice to hear when people like my blog :) I’m afraid I don’t really know of any online communities for this topic specifically, maybe just search for the tags you’re interested in and that should give you a list of related material? Sorry I can’t be of more help!

Leave a Reply

