Exploring Copenhagen

I have wanted to go to Copenhagen for a while but I forced myself to wait until the Summer to make sure I got the most out of it. In the last weekend of April I finally got there!

I arrived at Woodah Hostel which was a kind of yoga-organic hostel – pretty cool actually with a yummy free breakfast every morning. I brought my laptop so I could plan my days ahead, but I already knew my plan for Saturday – flea market and the aquarium!

I am a big fan of flea markets after being introduced to them in Oslo. I have visited flea markets in Sweden as well and now Copenhagen. I think they’re particularly excellent in Scandinavia because the women dress really well and have quite a lot of clothes – that’s my impression anyway. This all equates to some great bargains and a good way to spend a morning. As a thorough rummager it took me about 1.5 – 2hrs to get through all the stalls and I found 4 things – all under a fiver each. Woo! Copenhagen is known for its quirks too so I spotted some interesting finds.

Art stall

Art stall

Racks and racks of clothes

Racks and racks of clothes

A cute little tv I spotted

A cute little tv I spotted

After a tough morning I went across the street to get something which I have recently fallen in love with – sushi. It is just so yummy! It’s so fresh and with soy and wasabi it is absolutely delicious.

Sushi in Copenhagen

Sushi in Copenhagen

Now off to the aquarium. I am a great animal lover so I love to see animals (would prefer in the wild but hey, I haven’t got to Africa yet) and take photos. I always feel like some kind of whisperer but they mostly just ignore me :( You can see my post and photos from the aquarium here.

The Sunday was my walking day. I actually wanted to rent a bike and do as the Danes do (sooo many bicycles) but I figured walking would allow me to see more nooks and crannies and would give me more time to enjoy the sights. I basically followed the walking tour that was on my map so it was about 5 or 6km. The Round Tower is an old building where you get great views from the top. The tower is basically a spiral and there’s no steps, just a slope. It’s still not suitable for wheelchairs though unless you’re a bit (a lot) of a daredevil.

The tower

The tower

2013-04-28 09.36.35

View from the top

View from the top

From a window

From a window

Walking through the streets of Copenhagen is just a really pleasant way to see the city. The streets are really nice with bicycles everywhere and multicoloured houses. It’s just a really pretty city.

A city of bikes

A city of bikes

Rosenborg gardens

Rosenborg gardens

Rosenborg Palace and the gardens

Rosenborg Palace and the gardens

2013-04-28 10.17.07

A church in the park

A church in the park

Boats t the harbour

Boats in the harbour

The famous Mermaid statue

The famous Mermaid statue

After this great circular walk I stopped at Nyhaven to have some lunch and rest my feet. Nyhaven is the place that everyone recognises in Copenhagen, and for good reason.

Nyhaven

Nyhaven

I sat there with my book with a Danish dish of Plaice and Prawns for about 2 hours, just absorbing the sun – see my post; Eating out alone. Although there was a bit of a cool breeze it was a welcomed change to the Norwegian winter I had been used to.

My wander through the city streets continued till I made my way to the hostel for a couple of hours, before going out for some great thai food – not forgetting my book.

My time in Copenhagen was coming to and end, but the next morning I decided to squeeze in one more outing – the zoo! I have to say it  was heaps better than the aquarium. See my post on the zoo here.

One response to “Exploring Copenhagen

Leave a Reply

